ONE OK ROCK announce upcoming album ‘Eye of the Storm’

By  | 

Japanese rock band ONE OK ROCK have announced details of their upcoming album release.  The album to be called ‘Eye of the Storm‘ will be officially released on 15 February 2019.  This will be the group’s third

The title track of the song ‘Stand Out Fit In‘ was released just a few days ago.  This follows the release just a few weeks ago of another song from the album ‘Change‘.

The album will contain a total of 13 songs, including the title track.  Other songs on the album are:

01. Eye of the Storm
02. Stand Out Fit In
03. Head High
04. Grow Old Die Young
05. Push Back
06. Wasted Nights
07. Change
08. Letting Go
09. Worst In Me
10. In The Stars (Feat. Kiiara)
11. Giants
12. Unforgettable
13. The Last Time

ONE OK ROCK‘s vocalist Taka said of the new album, “For this album, we challenged and pushed ourselves to try new things while still maintaining the essence of what our band is.” He added, “I believe you will hear some things you have never heard from ONE OK ROCK.”

Check out the art for ‘Eye of the Storm’ from ONE OK ROCK

one ok rock

The newly released song ‘Stand Out Fit In‘ follows the story of a young Asian boy as he struggles to fit into Western society when he stands out, for the way he looks and even the food he eats.  The contradiction comes when the bullied becomes the bully as he grows up and conforms to the picture of what Western society expects of him.  The underlying message in the song is that we should be able to stand tall and be proud of who we are without bowing down or giving in.

As always for me, Taka’s vocals are powerful and convey the sense of pain that the young boy is feeling.  Whilst the driving, thumping musicality of the song propel it along at break-neck speed.

Check out ONE OK ROCK’s ‘Stand Out Fit In’

Eye of the Storm‘ will be released worldwide on February 15 (except for Japan).  A Japanese version of the album will be released on February 13.

Stay up to date with the latest in Asian entertainment news with All Access Asia.


Written and edited by Narelle

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *